Cocoplum 10K SUP Race: Recap 7/11/15

Today I did a race that not only included SUP’s but mostly canoes and kayaks. I wasn’t expecting that! The race was in North Port, FL in a little canal. It was flat and hot with no current. The race started at 9:30 in the morning and ended up being just over 5 miles, which made me pretty happy because the heat was brutal.

Sup Race

I was also super dumb this morning and put my board in a bad spot on top of my car and it got damaged by the part of the car that holds the antenna for the radio. So now I have a hole in my board… ughhh gotta get that fixed.

It was a nice event that was super cheap! Only 15 dollars and the proceeds went to the North Port Youth Summer Camp. The people in charge of the event were super nice and everything was easy. Sign-up was easy and the course was easy. Just a simple down and back. The only thing is the waterway was kinda boring with not much to look at and my mom came with me and it wasn’t a race that could be watched. Also, not a great race to go to if you aren’t racing, no shade!!!

Friends

However, overall it was fun. I liked how awards were right after. I was home by noon and the race was an hour away. Most races drag out all day and it was nice that it only took up my morning! I got first and a cool little trophy. Everyone that participated got a medal, which was awesome!

One strange thing though was the start, I had a kayaker hit me at the start. Everyone started together! Some people weren’t too good at controlling their watercraft.

I got first for the women

Finish line

Races are so much fun and the people are great! If you don’t SUP, I think you definitely should start!

2 thoughts on “Cocoplum 10K SUP Race: Recap 7/11/15

  1. I Google northport cocoplum race trying to find the newspaper article and I found this instead! I was the guy on the unlimited SUP yesterday! I like the race recap a lot, I’ll probably see you at some more events before the year is out.

    The North Port Sun newspaper did an article on the event I think there were some good pictures there!

  2. Hey Robert! I’m glad you found this. It’s not much but I’ll check out that newspaper article. Good job out there and I’ll see you at some races!

Leave a Reply

