3rd Annual Lake Mary Jane Paddle Race – 11/2/2014

 

First of all, this race was a chilly one! It was cold and windy, which made for conditions that us Floridians aren’t really used to. But overall, it was a great time.

All of us bundled up at the Racers meeting!

All of us bundled up at the Racers meeting!

This race was four 1.5 mile loops. The loops were not circles but they incorporated almost 180 degree turns going against the wind, with it and getting hit from the side. I was actually happy it was windy because it seems like whenever I go to train, it’s always windy and choppy.

Paddling hard

Paddling hard

Also, this race was super exciting because I was on my new HovieSup Comet Raceboard! I felt so fast over the water and let me tell you, feeling fast is a great feeling to have!

2nd Place

2nd Place

I ended up getting second place for the Women’s 12.6 Elite Division! I felt pretty good during the race, I mean I was tired of course but I tried so hard. I couldn’t believe it when I finally reached the finish! The HovieSup team also did so amazing!

Mark Athanacio took 1st place 12’6″ elite
Bruce Day took 2nd place elite 14 men’s 50+
Connor Rush took 1st place Jr elite
Will Marston took 2nd place Jr elite
Brian Hovanian took 1st overall 3 mile on a 14
Francesca Terzuoli Morrow took 1st overall women’s 12’6″ 3 mile

The HovieSup Crew!

The HovieSup Crew!

After the race, there was a co-ed sprint relay. I partnered up with my teammate Will and we got 2nd place. I had never done a race where you had to tug someone behind you. It was so much fun and a good way to end the race day!

Tug board race!

Tug board race!

Awards for the Co-ed tug race!

Awards for the Co-ed tug race!

I just love being around the SUP atmosphere, surrounded by awesome people who enjoy the same sport as I do. The season is coming to an end so time to get ready for next year 🙂

So many boards!

So many boards!

For more information check out the links below.

Lake Mary Jane Paddle Race:    Website                          Results                           Facebook

4 thoughts on “3rd Annual Lake Mary Jane Paddle Race – 11/2/2014

Leave a Reply

