Sarasota SUP Race Series: Race #3

On October 11th, a big event took place for paddleboarding in Sarasota, FL: The final race of the Sarasota SUP Race Series. The series had a total of 3 races. The first one was in June, the second one was in August and the third one, just last weekend. For many paddlers, the goal is to participate and do well in all three race in order to try and become the Race Series Champion!

Thankfully, I managed to do just that. I placed 2nd in the first and second race and finally, for the first time EVER, got 1st place in the final race! But it wasn’t easy. The final race was a tough course and it was brutally hot.

Here’s a video of the start line of each heat in the race: 

 

I was part of a three person draft train the whole race. And for probably about 4 miles of the 6.5 mile race, I lead the train. It’s difficult leading but I knew if I got in the back of the train for too long, I’d give up with trying to get first place. I wanted to make sure I always had the lead. And on the final turn to the finish, the girl behind me fell! Which allowed me to take first place! But I didn’t win by much. The times were SO CLOSE!!

Check out these times! And for more results CLICK HERE

Race Times

It was such a close race. These women are good. I couldn’t believe that I held on. After the race, we all enjoyed some food and relaxed. Everyone on team HovieSUP did so well too! Check it out here: Team HovieSUP

What makes me feel so good is how when I participated in this race last year, I could barely finish. I was exhausted. And now, I was pushing it the whole time and didn’t feel bad. Improvement makes me happy! All those days practicing and training are actually working!

PICTURES, PICTURES, PICTURES!

Sprinting to the finish line

Sprinting to the finish line

Coming up to the final buoy!

Coming up to the final buoy!

Right at the finish line

Right at the finish line

Waiting for awards

Waiting for awards

Eating and just hanging out with friends

Eating and just hanging out with friends

Getting some tips

Getting some tips

Race buds!

Race buds!

My team :)

Team HovieSUP

Awards ceremony

Awards ceremony

More information:

SUP Sarasota Website                SUP Sarasota Facebook                        Race Information

Connect with Me:

Facebook                    Instagram                      LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

