Sarasota SUP Race Series: Paddleboard Race #2

I’m so GO GO GO all the time that it’s difficult for me to just sit down and write but finally, here I am! This race took place on August 23 in Sarasota, FL at Lake Benderson. It’s this big, HUGE lake that will eventually hold the World Rowing Championships. It’s not an extremely exciting place to paddle because it’s just a big, flat lake and that’s it. However, the alligators keep you on your toes.

The Race Site

So here are some quick details from the race… the course was 6.2 miles (10K) in length, which was equivalent to 2 laps around the lake. However, what made this race a little bit more enticing was the fact that it was a beach start and just after about 40 yards you could choose to go left or right. I decided to go left…

The start!

The start! I had a pretty good start 🙂

These races are so much fun and so many paddlers come out! There was some good competition in every division, which makes everything more interesting! It was weird paddling and not knowing what place you are in because the women in my division went the opposite way of me so I had no idea. It was definitely unique.

Paddling

You just had to paddle so hard the whole time because you just didn’t know! Overall, the race went way better than I expected. I placed 2nd and was just 90 seconds behind first place, which was an improvement! I’m excited for the the last race that is coming up in the series. It will be on October 11. That is coming up so soon!

My sister always comes to support!

My sister always comes to support!

Check out some links to see pictures, information, and results!

Results                          Facebook                               Pictures

Leave a Reply

