Gasparilla 15K: Racing in the New INJINJI’s

The Gasparilla race’s in Tampa, FL are not meant for setting new PR’s. Why? Because there are SO MANY PEOPLE! It’s crazy how many people sign up for this race. The 15K had 4,921 participants. And I placed 619th out of everyone with a time of 1:16. The 5K is absolutely horrendous(I ran that last year) so I wouldn’t even bother with that one. The 5k had 11,635 participants! The 15K wasn’t as bad but still, make sure you are good at weaving if you enter this race.

The sea of people at the start of the race

The sea of people at the start of the race

Once you got to mile 2, the congestion was down and you could run freely so not too shabby. I hadn’t been doing as much running as I had liked because cycling is my new thing! Therefore, I came to the race with dead quads from cycling the day before. That was dumb of me.

The weather wasn’t the best but could have been a lot worse. It was windy, overcast, and extremely humid. At mile 3, my shirt was already drenched. So at mile 9, the sweat was just dripping off of me, I was melting! haha. As you can see in these pictures, it looks like I went swimming.

Just keep running

Just keep running

Race Ready

I wore the race t-shirt because I didn’t really love it, so I don’t know when I would wear it again. I wore my SKORA’s, which are still my favorite shoe I’ve ever run in so far. They still kill my calves, which is great. Working hard! And then my new thing are my INJINJI’s. My new favorite socks. I was a little skeptical at first about wearing toe socks but after my first run in them, my feet don’t like anything else. Being able to move each toe freely is a great feeling. They also come in many different thicknesses and ankle heights. Seriously though, I absolutely love them. It just took a day for my feet to feel the same.

Muscle shot at the end of the race = MUST DO!

Muscle shot at the end of the race = MUST DO!

Recently, I held a contest for all my followers to win a pair of Injinji’s and the winner sent me some reviews from his running experiences. Overall, we shared the same thoughts! So I’m going to post what he said! Thank you Jeff for participating in the contest and giving feedback!

TOE SOCKS!

TOE SOCKS!

Performance 2.0 and Run 2.0
These socks are designated as the running, gym, crossfit, etc socks.  Both performed very similar to each other.  Both are definitely much more robust than the first generation of Injinji’s.  The core difference I could sort out was that the Run sock is more breathable than the Performance.  However, you definitely feel that thickness.  And, since it’s thicker, I noticed they ran a little warmer than the Originals.  I really liked the think feel of the originals.  If you like a thicker sock, then these are winners.  Not only do they fit better than the version 1, but the addition of the Achilles protection is awesome.   However, I like a thin sock, so I’m saving these for colder weather or for my Luna Sandals.
Trail 2.0
All I can say about this is “Wow, I could wear these every day! ”  They are plush, comfy, warm.  Again, things are thicker with 2.0, but boy is this comfy.  The protective cuff fits well and would definitely protect against getting dirt/rocks into the sock for trail running.  I’d say this sock is my hands down favorite for casual wear.
Hike 2.0
This sock was the real surprise.  This sock is made of NuWool, but retains the thin feel of Version 1.0.  It’s also very comfortable.  I actually really enjoyed using these on several runs.  The durability may not be that of the Run or Performance, but it’s a really good sock.  In fact, I’d say these have become my long run favorites.  They really work well and would be great in almost any condition.  I wouldn’t use them for the gym since the NuWool causes a little more slipping inside the shoe for crossfit, but for running or hiking, these are fantastic.

The trail 2.0 was my favorite. So comfortable! That is the sock I ran my 15K in and personally, I felt like I just wanted to run in the sock by itself. They’re cushioned and durable. My feet felt great while running and after running. And to make that mean more, my feet blister because I sweat so much but I didn’t experience that this time. Woo! Here’s a picture of me stretching after running and check out those toe socks.

Stretching my calves after the race, wearing my Injinji toe socks!

Stretching my calves after the race, wearing my Injinji toe socks!

I recommend giving them a try! And they worked very well with my Skora running shoes. They couple each other very nicely. 🙂 Happy running everyone!

One thought on “Gasparilla 15K: Racing in the New INJINJI’s

Leave a Reply

