SKORA: Base Shoe Review

It’s difficult to find a pair of shoes that you can run-in, walk-in and wear out to dinner… Shoes that are good for everything. But I think I finally did it, I found my one stop shop!

SKORA

Skora is a new company, from Portland, Oregon, with lots of fresh ideas. They are different and original with a slogan that makes you want to give them a try: RUN REAL. I want to run like I was supposed to run, not run how company’s are trying to mold me. I was a little skeptical at first going to something new but literally, I have not felt a more comfortable shoe. I opened the box, put them on and didn’t take them off. No joke. I was like no way a shoe is this comfortable without breaking them in. EVERY shoe I have ever worn has recovered some break-in time. But not these. Here are the shoes I got:

These are called Base, which are a women’s shoe in light blue, white, and blue

MY FIRST RUN

For my first run in the Skora’s, I did a road run of 5 miles. It was great, and even in the rain. They were very light and not bothersome at all. No blisters, no discomfort anywhere, just a great run. You can wear these shoes in rain or shine, socks or no socks, road or trail, they are amazing.

Also, just to add-in, I’m not used to the minimalist shoe yet. So my first run did go very smoothly, however, I had sore calves the next day, which isn’t a bad thing. It’s part of the process from changing from a heel strike to a strike in the middle of my foot. I don’t mind feeling sore, I like to know my body is working hard. I did some shorter and slower runs to build the up muscle memory and get my legs used to the motion and new running style. It’s only been 3 weeks but I feel that these shoes and I will go far… no pun intended. 🙂

Notice the velcro straps

A WEEKEND IN D.C.

I just went on a mini vacation to Washington D.C. and I brought my Skora’s… I actually didn’t bring any other shoe on the trip. Our first day there, we walked 15 miles. Now, that’s a far walk. My sister’s started complaining about their feet and legs and blisters… But not me. I didn’t even think about my shoes once. I never had to re-tie the laces(thanks to the velcro), never felt a blister forming, and had no pain anywhere. Next day, we did 10 miles. No problems again. It even rained on us. My shoes dried so quickly, it was great. Also, I wore my Skora’s out to dinner and they look great with jeans or shorts. They are so versatile.

The Jefferson Memorial. Look closely and you will see that I am rocking my Skora’s 🙂

Outside the National Zoo, walked miles to get here!

THE BASE – WOMEN’S SHOE: LIGHT BLUE, WHITE, BLUE

Now more about the shoe itself. Base is a very durable shoe. The shoe has a very unique design with an X-strap system for the laces. There are no shoe strings, just velcro that crosses the shoe in the middle and it can be adjusted. There is also another velcro strap on the heel that can be adjusted to your liking. The shoe is made of a stretchy mesh material, which makes it so comfortable. Also, if you decide to run at night there are reflective details that will make you be seen by oncoming vehicles. A helpful tip is to order a half-size smaller if you decide that SKORA looks like the shoe for you. To learn more about the Base design and the method behind it, visit: http://skorarunning.com/#/

Overall, I’m so excited to train for my half-marathon in my Skora’s. My race is on November 25 so I’m training now and the running couldn’t be better. I will keep everyone updated with my training and how it goes. I’m so excited. It will be my first half and my friends are even doing it with me. Enough sitting for me, time to go outside! 🙂

P.s. If you are on Facebook, SKORA has a great page with many helpful tips, reminders, and motivation to keep you training. I love when their stuff pops up on my newsfeed.

One thought on “SKORA: Base Shoe Review

  1. Pingback: Shoe Review: The New FIT by Skora | Fit Body Now

Leave a Reply

