How to get your Body HOT… and Sweaty

Feel the heat and feel the burn! I sure did! HOT YOGA kicked my butt today. It was my first time experiencing all that hot yoga had to offer and it only cost me 5 dollars, which is a phenomenal price. By the end of the 90 minute session in up to 100 degree Fahrenheit heat, my towel, clothes, and headband could be wrung out. I sweat a lot usually, but no complaining… I love it! It makes me feel like I’m making my body really work, which is what I want. 

At the Pure Yoga & Fitness class, I was the only newbie out of roughly 20 people. It was a little intimidating at first but once I got passed the warm-up, the moves got a lot more complicated so no one was focusing on me. The focus was on themselves. The class had everything you could ask for in a workout session: sweat, increased heart rate, shaking, relaxing, stretching, challenges, rest, and a great after feeling!

10 minutes into class I already had my heart rate up, the sweat was starting to rapidly roll down my body, and I was facing challenging poses. I have done some yoga before but nothing like this. My body was not used to bending or staying in some positions for very long. But if I happen to not me able to perform a move… there was always a modification I could do. Some poses we had to hold for what seemed like an eternity because my body was shaking so much. But that’s good! That means my body was working hard so all my muscles were getting worked out, which is how the body tones itself. I want those tone arms! Also, I hear you can burn roughly 600 calories a class. That would take over an hour and fifteen minutes running at around a 6.0 pace! Hot yoga gets it all done! It’s a cardio workout, a stretch workout, a challenging workout and a breathing workout. All at the same time.

 

Shine like a star

The first class was tough for me. But challenging your body and seeing what you can do and how much you can improve is one of the greatest feelings. I’m so excited to go again. After class, my body felt so relaxed. I definitely drank my fair share of water during and after. I recommend hot yoga for everyone, both men and women. The class also had a very large age group, ages ranged from teenagers to people in their 60’s. It was great motivation to see some of the older participants in class because they were really good at it! If you have done hot yoga before, share your experiences! I would love to know more about it and I highly recommend it for people who have never done it.

7 thoughts on “How to get your Body HOT… and Sweaty

  1. I’ve just started yoga classes and think they are awesome. I’ve never heard of hot yoga. Sounds very interesting. Must check it out

  2. yoga is no joke! anyone who thinks otherwise needs to pop in yoga-x from p90x and try to hang with those guys. it’s all down hill after the first 45 minutes (90 minutes total). I sweat enough doing that, I can’t imagine adding 100 degrees into the equation. I haven’t done it in a while, and I miss the flexibility and balance that comes with yoga. I wish I could find the time to fit it all in…

    just beware…the weight you lose through sweat is mainly water weight. there’s a formula somewhere for how much water you should put back in your body for every pound you sweat out.

  3. Who would have thought yoga could burn that many calories, interesting, thanks for the info, I guess it is a lot harder than it looks. I’m not sure men could be that flexible but maybe I’ll consider trying that out. Nice post.

  4. I’m always afraid to try “hot” yoga. I once did a boot camp where it got so hot that I passed out. Ever since then, i’ve been afraid of “hot” rooms. LOL I really want to try it, but I’m so scared. i wish I was brave as you.

Leave a Reply

