8 things that are making you fat

My list of things that I think may prevent you from losing weight:

1. Eating when you are bored. I am a college student and when it’s time for me to study, I get hungry. Why? because I don’t want to study so I’m distracting myself. Studying bores me, so I say if I’m eating then I can’t study. When you are at work or school or at home, keep a bottle of water near you. Drink it when you get the urge to take a break and eat. Also, many times we are actually thirsty and dehydrated, not hungry. And drinking water will fill your stomach up with zero calories. Another method, is to keep gum with you. The chewing and flavor will trick your mind into thinking that you are eating.

2. Portion Sizes. I have near been to another country other then the United States. I hear that portions are so much smaller in European countries and countries around the world. America has changed our minds into thinking that portions are huge. Our portions are twice the size or more then those in foreign countries. You have to change your minds idea of how much food will fill you up. To do this just buy smaller plates and bowls. Also, when cooking looking at the portion sizes on boxes and try and go by that. It may take time to get used to it but your body can do it.

3. Processed Foods. Start buying organic food. It is more expensive but it has so many benefits. Also, it is fun to go to the local farmers market and see all the goods and talk to the local farmers. It will open up your mind. The supermarket isn’t the only place you can buy food. It could be fun to go to a local farm and pick strawberries and tomatoes. That’s cheaper too! Get creative and when you go to the store check out the organic sections and give it a try!

Fresh Fruit is great for any meal!

4. Excuses. No more excuses. Get outside and play. Play with your dog, play with your kids, play with friends… just go outside. Learn to love something outside. Like hiking, walking, golfing, biking, swimming… depending on your interests, there is something for you! Try something new like kiteboarding or stand up paddling. Who knows… you could discover something that you have natural talent for.

5. Lying to Yourself. Sometimes this is good but when you are lying about how just one bite of cake won’t hurt you, it will. It will stir that craving back up. I love cake, cookies, ice cream, brownies… who doesn’t? But since I keep saying just one scoop or just a little piece I will never get over eating junk food. You can eat it at special occasions but don’t pig out. And don’t lie to yourself saying that you ate healthy yesterday so its fine to eat bad today. It doesn’t work like that. Just like how if its frozen yogurt that doesn’t mean it’s good for you. Just be careful. Make it easy on yourself and just stay away from the unhealthy foods.

Another fun outdoor activity! I highly recommend trying a ropes course!

6. Being Lazy. Get motivated to move. Don’t be lazy. Clean the house, if it needs to be cleaned. This is simple and burns a lot of calories. You have to vacuum, make beds, fold laundry… you are constantly moving. It’s great. And make it fun, put your favorite music on and go in with a good attitude! Also, just being organized clears your head and makes you feel more energetic. Also, wake up early. Sleeping-in can make you feel tired, which will trigger the laziness. Get started early and workout. That way your mind hasn’t woken up yet and won’t know what you’re doing.

7. Computer Time. Go on the computer only once a day. People spend so much time on the computer. Pick the evening or morning to go on, whatever works for you. Also, limit your time. Don’t waste time on Facebook or Twitter. Just do checks on the sites and check your email, read the news. Be productive. That’s the goal. If you find yourself on youtube, stumbleupon… that’s when you need to shut it off.

8. Too Much T.V. It is so easy to watch T.V. and eat but have you tried to read and eat? It’s distracting… at least to me it is. The crunching or swallowing makes it hard for me to focus. But watching T.V. doesn’t take too much focus so that’s why it’s easy to eat a whole bag of chips in one sitting. Don’t do that anymore. Pick up a good book and distract yourself from the real world.

164 thoughts on “8 things that are making you fat

  1. Thank you for not saying “Drinking Diet Coke.” I realize it’s not the best choice in the world, but hey…I still get my 8 full glasses of water a day PLUS my Diet Coke. So that’s something, right?

    Great list, by the way…spot on!

  2. Tip 1 is really good. Also, you’re totally right on Tip 2 as well, I’m from Europe and when I visited Texas I couldn’t believe the size of food portions. A Texan side order is the equivalent of a European dinner! Congrats on being freshly pressed as well!

  3. I totally agree with you. These are 8 things I’ve noticed I start doing when I slack off in exercising and eating healthy.

  4. Yep, these things do all make you fat. Basically what you are saying is ‘to change your body, change your lifestyle’ which is 100% correct and nothing new. I would also add; Drink less alcohol, Don’t buy junk food (candy / take aways), and if there is another way to get somewhere Take the least easy travel option (bus then walk, or bike the whole way, etc). Another good reason to eat fresh and whole foods (not necessarily organic) is that processed and preserved foods have more toxins and less nutrition. Congrats on your Press Freshing!

  5. Good list! As for watching television, imagine what most people do when the commercials come on? Switch the channel or watch. You don’t have time? That is 3 minutes that you could clean or do some excercises that are simple such as planks. Not having time is not a real excuse at all!

  6. Good point about the portions. I’m from Germany and live in Canada now. It’s crazy what they serve here.
    Problem with your recommendation: you almost can’t find small plates here. We bought new ones the other day, they are massive. And from what I saw on the shelves that’s how they come these days.

  7. An under-active thyroid gland, referred to as hypothyroidism, should not be taken for granted. Many people suffer from this, chronic, illness… without even knowing it.

    A simple blood check on the TSH (thyroid-stimulating hormone) value in your blood will shed a light on it. Especially for people who can’t seem to find a match on your list.

    I’d also like to add: “Don’t eat before going to bed”.

    Stay fit, stay healthy 😉

  8. Guilty on all counts! 😀 Great post, congrats on being freshly pressed! Being European, I easily addapted to the American larger portions and gained 55 lbs in course of 14 years…:[ I blame it al on age and getting older! 😛

  9. What you have written is so correct and spot on. Thank you for reminding us about the traps we easily can fall into. Like anything in life, if it seems to easy for us to do, we are. It challenging ourselves like our creator wanted us to do. Be the best you can be…always.

  10. This is of of the best blog-posts I’ve read for a while actually and it’s so true. Why is that we always seem to have excuses for not doing things or doing something else (which we usually tell ourselves is more important) instead? Why don’t we just do what we’re supposed to right away so that we can get time over for other things?

    Really interesting post which I totally agree upon! I’ll definitely keep on reading!

  11. Reblogged this on Warning: I don't hold back. and commented:
    Okay, so I am totally guilty on #7 of this list.. Along with the rest of the world. The funny thing is though, I know it.. I just don’t do anything about it. I’ll sit on Twitter or Tumblr for hours or Facebook stalk(yes, I just admitted that) instead of being productive. By time I know it, I wasted a whole day on the computer. Technology is a great thing, but it’s like this love hate relationship. I love it so much and I know most of the time, it’s bad for me, but I don’t care!

  12. It’s nice to be reminded of healthy tips again! I need to work on portion sizes and stop making excuses. But it’s really not my fault; it’s my kids! Heehee.

  13. Great post. Anything that brings attention to the importance of eating and living healthy is well worth writing and reading, particularly given that 80% of our immune system is situation in our gastrointestinal tract.

  14. Let’s not forget that body fat is mostly regulated by insulin, so fat accumulation may also be caused by an excess of carbohydrates.

    Also, too much TV should include those who spend too much time in front of a screen in general.

  15. I have to say that I agree with you 100%! Most of the time the reasons why some of us aren’t loosing weight is right in front of us, but sometimes it just takes someone else to remind you of those reasons. Great post!! I would like to share this with others:)

  16. Very good list with some excellent points! I have stopped eating processed completely, and feel so much better for it. My blood pressure has gone down (less salt), my stomach feels better (no bloating from too much salt and preservatives…) and on the whole- I feel energized and healthier!

  17. Lying to Yourself. Sometimes this is good but when you are lying about how just one bite of cake won’t hurt you, it will. It will stir that craving back up. I love cake, cookies, ice cream, brownies… who doesn’t? But since I keep saying just one scoop or just a little piece I will never get over eating junk food. You can eat it at special occasions but don’t pig out. And don’t lie to yourself saying that you ate healthy yesterday so its fine to eat bad today. It doesn’t work like that. Just like how if its frozen yogurt that doesn’t mean it’s good for you. Just be careful. Make it easy on yourself and just stay away from the unhealthy foods.

    ( In that paragragh u were reading my mind) I think everyone lye in times of sweet and sugar.

    I wish I can follow your instructions. Thank u for your efforts

  18. Thank you! I especially am concerned about excessive amounts of screen time for our children these days. It is out of control and keeping children from reading, using their imaginations, and playing outside.

  19. Right on! Knowing and reading isn’t doing, though… that’s the hard part. I think if we start thinking about these things as kids and try to make changes with the whole family, we might have a chance. That’s where I’m at. Trying to get kids (and their families) interested in eating well. It’s so worth it 🙂

  20. I agreed with all of the points except for eating organically- a lot of the “organic” label is just hype. The definition of organic differs from grocery to grocery or even from one vegetable to another, it loses its meaning. Sure, there’s a “legal” definition for it, but it probably doesn’t mean what you think it means. Most of the time, all you’re paying for is a price premium.

    Also, processed foods aren’t always what’s bad for you, although they are very frequently guilty of having bad macros (more fats, less protiens/carbs). So when you eat you should look at nutrition facts and keep in mind the Atwaters factors. Prots/carbs are 4 cals/g, and fats are 9.

    However, I do agree about farmer’s markets! (: Those can be really fun and a great way to keep things interesting for your diet.

  21. Very good conclusion!!!I have been concerned about my big thighs and legs for years.Now I think I found a good way to make its size smaller by and by-doing some household chores!!!Cool!I am doing every evening since the house needs a clean-up after a gathering of sisters and brothers in church.Good opportunities!!!

  22. Since portions are so big everywhere, it’s best not to eat out all the time. It took me a while to realize that foods brought over from other countries suddenly get bigger in America. Ha.

  23. Good article. I am constantly on the PC at work and at home. I think I need to spend more time with my family on outdoor activities too. Maybe I need to pick up tennis and swimming again too.

  24. Very good information. Helpful! I have always been a healthy eater but find there is more to learn all the time. My biggest problem is portion control. I have a high metabolism so i don’t really gain weight, but I know I overeat. It is possible to eat too much even if it is healthy…no matter the food, moderation and portion control is very important.

  25. This blog is a kind public service. Even WebMD doesn’t present this type of information so pleasantly. Reading this, one almost floats into better habits.

  26. So, I just sat down at my computer with two pieces of chocolate cake and clicked your post to read next. Ooopsie! I think #4 is the only one that matters – we know all the other stuff, it’s just a matter of sticking to it and it sucks sometimes! (Okay, all the time.) Just wanted to say hi and congrats to another fellow FP’er! Enjoy! 🙂

  27. Good post. Too many people today are living sedentary lifestyles, which – combined with overeating – can lead to a lot of health problems.

    I live in China, and a lot of the people here make exercise a part of their everyday routine, whether it’s walking their dogs or going to a park to practice tai chi. Here’s a column I wrote a couple months ago about America’s eating problem.

    http://slightlyreworded.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/land-of-the-free-and-home-of-the-buffet/

    Jimmy

  28. ALL OF IT IS TRUE!!! I lost over 60 pounds by working on all the eight elements. I realized that I was eating because I was bored which altered my portions. As soon as I took action and ate the meals I was suppose to eat, reduced my portions, found the willpower to say no to myself, I lost all my weight. Your list is very much accurate!

    Thank you for your informative post!

    If it’s alright with you, I started a blog of my own not too long ago and I would like to invite you and your readers to please check out my posts, comment, and subscribe! I would really appreciate any feedback as well as your support by signing up! The link is http://www.logicmeetsreason.wordpress.com Thank you so much!

  29. Ha! You aren’t kidding about being a student and the tendency to eat. It seemed like every single time that I would sit down to study, no matter when I had last eaten, as soon as I turned a few pages it seemed that I needed some Starbucks, some potato chips, or something else equally unhappy. It took a while to learn better habits for me, but you definitely hit the nail on the head here. It is good that you can realize it when you are young, so that you don’t have to deal with trying to fight the weight off later. Last, but not least, you aren’t kidding about the ropes course – those things are a great activity! Thanks for sharing.

  30. I totally agree, I am guilty at times of telling myself that I can indulge once in awhile. I do believe in the 80/20 rule. The thing is easy for me because I actually don’t like junk food, if I am having an indulgence moment it’s sweet potato chips, or a bite of a brownie, or crackers and cheese these type of things are my indulgences because they are things that I actually like but I know they aren’t good all the time. I like this post it the same way I think.

  31. These are all so true. I am most aware of the lack of proper portion control. I frequently share healthy recipes with people, and I am shocked to find out that they eat 3-4 servings in a sitting, especially when these recipes are packed with veggies that make them filling. Portion control is more about habit than it is about hunger and satiety.

    http://lessonsfromtheendofamarriage.com

  32. numbers 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7 apply to me. Bummer that although I’ve studied nutrition and whatnot for some 2.5 years. I’ve lost lots of weight, but just can’t get through the last five kilos (literally). But what tops it for me is that I’m a foodie who loves to cook (and therefore eat) and I cook Mediterranean – which can be quite unhealthy sometimes! Thanks for this post. I had just finished munching away on some Afghani bread (god, that stuff is AMAZING!)

  33. Great blog post, I feel very motivated now to cut down on my PC and TV time!

    I’m from the UK but will be in the States this month and have to be careful when eating out with the portion sizes. However, the resturants in New York are pretty good, I find.

  34. This is fantastic, and I’m constantly telling people these things.
    Only because I use to do so many of them, but then decided to change for the better. Glad to know someone else thinks the same way as I do. 🙂

  35. This is good. This is what peopel need – realiziation of their eating habbits. I have tried many of these things before I have discovered your post and I found out that If I am starting to look for “soemthing soemthing” to snack, I drink a large glass of water and wait.
    IF snacking mood is still bothering me, I learned to eat pumpkin or sunflower seeds – you need to work whole alot to crack and open them and eat the seed from inside. So you are busy for a long while at the same time eating just a little 😀 I get tired soon and the water find it’s whay during that time and the need for a snack is over. 🙂

    http://dressupforme.wordpress.com/

  36. Hey Katherine,

    I’m from Brazil, but I can say with no doubts that your post may be easily used for us! thats because the same things wich make you fat do the same for us. With your permission I’gonna translate your post and reblog here on Brazil (sure, with credits).
    Leo
    Fortaleza, Brazil.

  37. I felt guilty on number seven because I spend most of my time in front of the computer, I read and watch movie. I’m not fun of going outside and play. I just like to be inside of the room alone. But now i’m trying to have a time for working out. Thanks for the tips and advice that you have given.

  38. An impressive list. I would add two thoughts. The first is the importance of sleep and secondly the power of vegetable soup. This may sound crazy, but I make vegetable soup on Sunday and it becomes the instant meal, lunch or anytime, served with a couple crackers, and because it is vegetables it has a tremendous self life – 4 days in the open.

  39. I completely agree with you. This is list spot on and everyone should take these things into consideration. Changing your lifestyle isn’t easy, but it wil be well worth the effort.

  40. Very true!

    I can definitely attest to #2 on your list (portion sizes) – the large fries that I get at McDonald’s here at home (Philippines) is just the small size over there. I can never finish one main course at a regular restaurant (Denny’s, Applebee’s, whatever) in the US because they’re all so HUGE!

  41. American portions are absolutely crazy! I’m from England and when I went to LA I could barely finish half of any plate (and in British terms I’m pretty greedy). All the waiters kept telling me I ate like a little bird even when I’d clearly just eaten my own body weight in cheeseburger!

    Your other points are all spot-on as well 🙂

  42. Yeah, I think that the no snacking when you’re bored is a big one to break and I always used to do that especially when I was in college. I’d run to the vending machine and eat something in class, of course not chips or anything too crunchy. The drinking water when you feel like eating is a great idea though to curb hunger.

  43. Agree with all your points!! One thing that helps me is that I have a dog. Having a dog forces me to go on walks because I know he needs/wants the exercise too! I’ve started buying all organic food and really trying to cut out processed foods as much as possible. I am going to the Farmer’s Market this weekend and I cannot wait!

  44. I think that reason number 6 is the most responsible for fatness. I’m 25 and i started kung fu a month ago, just for the exercise. I noticed that I’m not as lazy as I used to be. You gotta start moving to get used to it.

  45. Great post, I love it. We got rid of the TV but now we struggle with too much time online. But you have inspired me to get organized today and burn some calories doing it! Thanks!

  46. Thanks! I have heard those reasons before. I didn’t gain weight until i went from super active and athletic to stationary! This happened due to three things: my classes on campus were super close together in one building, I stopped working downtown which cut down more time that I walked miles at a time for no reason other than I love downtown Indianapolis, and athletic injury. I am not as thin or as strong as I used to be but I am getting closer everyday.

  47. I am guilty of almost all of these. One good thing about university is that, for me anyway, I watch a lot less TV, but then again my computer kind of takes over, so that sort of makes up the difference. Great post though, as I pretty much agree with everything here!

  48. +1 😉
    I’m writing my thesis at the moment, and it’s terrible!! I’m eating all the day and I’m eating chocolate, chips, peanuts – all those unhealty fat stuff. The best method is: Don’t buy it!! Unfortunately I work in a supermarket some hours a day. It’s like torture. Have you ever realized the gorgeous, wonderful, magnificent, euphonic sound of a chip bag? I always (!) have to buy one after I placed it in.
    Next topic: TV and online time. I always try to eat without TV, but then it’s the time for my series. Or I really, REALLY have to check my mails NOW. Uh, it’s really terrible and you need severe discipline to act like you’re advicing. But I think it is worth – not only because of weight, but also because of LIFE QUALITY.
    Many greetings from Germany 🙂

  49. So true. I hardly ever watch TV in college but you do have to be on your computer a lot more doing “schoolwork.” So we say. haha

  50. That’s great! And your dog probably loves you more and more each day for that! Have fun at the farmers market!

  51. My mom drinks a lot of diet coke, to the point where it’s not good. Having one is okay but definitely don’t make that your go-to drink. And thank you! Keep drinking water!

  52. This seems like a good list, wonder if it helps me… I’m no friends with limits – i’m a huge sweet tooth and i have a wide body type. Oh well, i
    ll go with your list, if it will really help – I’ send you a tray of brownies 🙂

  53. Hello my name is Jewel and I am a young mommy of 3. I recently lost my mom to breast cancer. It was the hardest experience of my life. He faith was tremendously inspiring. It drove me to start my own business catering to mothers. I have a passionate desire for fashion and health. I absolutely love your blog. I truly want to channel my pain into helping others rather than become a bitter person. My website is in the works. I was actually looking for a picture on a health article I was going to put on facebook and I saw your blog. Keep shining~~~

  54. i used to eat while studying as a way to stay awake. bad i know. the portions in the states are huge! here in canada, they are smaller, but still bigger than in australia (from what i hear). and from first hand experience, larger than in europe. when we were there in the fall, my husband would still be hungry after we ate.

  55. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb site!

  56. Pingback: TotalFit | 20 coisas que engordam

Leave a Reply

